Doug Bollinger Questions Glenn Maxwell’s Exclusion from Australia’s Test Squad for PAK vs AUS Series

Former Australia pacer Doug Bollinger expressed bewilderment over the omission of Glenn Maxwell from Australia’s Test squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan. Bollinger, emphasizing Maxwell’s exceptional form, advocated for his inclusion in the red-format squad. The three-match Test series between Pakistan and Australia is set to kick off on December 14.

Maxwell’s Remarkable Form
Glenn Maxwell has showcased remarkable form throughout the year, delivering standout performances in the recently concluded World Cup 2023. Bollinger highlighted Maxwell’s previous experience in Test cricket and emphasized the potential value he could bring to the team, particularly in Australian conditions. Dismissing concerns about Maxwell’s batting position, Bollinger expressed unconventional thinking and recounted being labeled a ‘moron’ for supporting Scot Boland’s inclusion a few years ago.

“I even said to a few people, why wouldn’t they pick ‘Maxi’ in the Test squad the way he’s batting? He’s played Test cricket before. In Australian conditions, it’d be interesting. Who cares (where you put him), put everyone up the order. I like thinking outside the square like that mate. I said to pick Scott Boland a few years ago and I got called a moron,” Bollinger remarked during an interview on SEN 1170 Mornings.

Maxwell’s Test Record
Glenn Maxwell has featured in seven Test matches, accumulating 339 runs at an average of 26.08. Riding high on his World Cup success, the right-handed batter demonstrated his prowess in power-hitting, including a double century and two centuries.

The Australia vs Pakistan Test series is scheduled as follows:
– 1st Test: December 14-18, Perth
– 2nd Test: December 26-30, Melbourne
– 3rd Test: January 3-7, Sydney

Squads for AUS vs PAK Test Series:
Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.