IPL 2024: Highest run-getters in the IPL history

The seventeenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is underway, and all teams have already played their first matches. The tournament opener was played at the iconic M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, the home ground of the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who are also the joint-most successful franchise with five titles. CSK defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the first encounter.

The annual tournament holds a rich history, wherein batters have thrashed the ball all over the park while amassing truckloads of runs for themselves and their respective franchises. Courtesy of heaps of breathtaking knocks over the years, the IPL has become the favorite tournament of cricket fans across the world, and its fanbase is among the most loyal ones.

Top 5 Batters with Most Runs in IPL History

  1. The poster boy of RCB, Virat Kohli, is the most decorated cricketer of the IPL. Justifying his name, Virat has gobsmacking records to his name — 7,444 runs, a batting average of 37.79, and seven hundreds. The RCB loyalist also has fifty half-centuries against his name since 2008. The New Delhi-born tasted the pinnacle of his success in the league during the 2016 edition, amassing a mind-boggling 973 runs, including four hundreds, a feat that remains unassailed till date.
  2. Moving forward, left-handed batter Shikhar Dhawan, who captains Punjab Kings (PBKS), is second on the list with 6,684 runs to his tally and averages 35.37. The batter’s strike rate is in excess of 127, with a couple of hundreds and fifty half-centuries in 218 innings so far in the cash-rich league.
  3. The attacking opening batter David Warner finds his name as the highest run-getter among overseas players and third-highest overall. Warner displaced Rohit Sharma from the spot during the 2022 edition and scored 516 runs in the following season to get past the 6,000-run mark in the league’s history, becoming only the third batter to do so. The Aussie batter has smashed four centuries and 60 half-centuries in the league so far.
  4. Star batter Rohit Sharma, who has lifted the IPL silverware five times, has excellent returns as a batter. The Nagpur-born cricketer has amassed 6,329 runs in 242 innings, with the majority coming for Mumbai Indians. His batting records are decorated with an impressive 42 half-centuries and a solitary ton.
  5. Revered as Mr. IPL, former CSK batter Suresh Raina has done full justice to the title. Being the first player to breach the 5,000-run mark in the league, the southpaw bid adieu to his career with 5,528 runs in 200 innings, averaging 32.51. An impressive career strike-rate of 136.73, coupled with 39 fifties and a hundred, Raina has single-handedly won matches and fans’ hearts with his antics on the field.