Pat Cummins crowned ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, Virat Kohli and Usman Khawaja also among the honorees

In a prestigious ceremony on Thursday (January 25), Australian skipper Pat Cummins claimed the coveted ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year award, capping off a remarkable 2023. Cummins led Australia to victory in the ODI World Cup, secured the World Test Championship, and retained the Ashes in a drawn series against England. His exemplary leadership was complemented by a stellar bowling performance, finishing as the sixth-highest wicket-taker across formats.

Virat Kohli earned the title of Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year for his outstanding year with the bat, amassing 1377 runs at an impressive average of 72 and a strike rate of 99. Kohli’s record-breaking 765 runs in the World Cup played a crucial role in securing the honor, and he surpassed Sachin Tendulkar’s record for the most ODI hundreds during the tournament.

Usman Khawaja was fittingly named Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year after ending 2023 as the highest run-scorer in the longest format. Scoring 1210 runs at an average of 52 with three centuries and six fifties, Khawaja’s comeback proved historic, outshining teammates Steve Smith, Travis Head, and Marnus Labuschagne.

In the women’s category, Nat Sciver-Brunt secured the Women’s Cricketer of the Year for the second consecutive time, displaying exceptional consistency in both ODIs and T20Is. Sri Lankan captain Chamari Athapaththu earned the Women’s ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, boasting a strike rate of 125, the best among players crossing 400-plus runs in 2023.

Hayley Matthews, West Indies captain, claimed the Women’s T20I Player of the Year for her outstanding performance in the shortest format, accumulating 700 runs with a remarkable average of 63.6.

Suryakumar Yadav retained the Men’s T20I Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, contributing significantly with 733 runs at an average of 48 and a strike rate of 159.6. New Zealand’s Rachin Ravindra and Australia’s Phoebe Litchfield secured the Men’s and Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year awards, respectively.

Bas de Leede and Queentor Abel were recognized as the Men’s and Women’s Associate Cricketers of the Year, while Richard Illingworth received the Umpire of the Year award. The evening celebrated the remarkable achievements of cricketers across formats, highlighting their contributions to the sport.