Sri Lanka names three uncapped players for historic test against Afghanistan

Sri Lanka Announces Squad with Three Debutants for Landmark Test Against Afghanistan

In a significant development, Sri Lanka has included three uncapped players in the squad for the upcoming one-off Test against Afghanistan in Colombo on February 2. Dhananjaya de Silva, the newly appointed Test captain, leads the team for the first time after taking over from Dimuth Karunaratne.

Wicketkeeper-batter Lahiru Udara, along with fast bowlers Chamika Gunasekara and Milan Rathnayake, have earned their spots in the squad. While Udara and Gunasekara have previous T20I and ODI experience, Rathnayake is set to make his international debut.

The selection committee has made some notable exclusions, dropping Lakshitha Mansinghe, Praveen Jayawickrama, and Pathum Nissanka from the squad that played against Pakistan last year. Despite being part of the squad, Nissanka didn’t get a chance to play in the previous series. Dilshan Madushanka, who debuted in that series, is also not considered for the upcoming Test as he is currently participating in the ILT20.

This historic Test will mark the first-ever meeting between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in the longest format of the game.

**Squad:** Dhananjaya de Silva (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Dimuth Karunaratne, Nishan Madushka, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Kamindu Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lahiru Udara, Chamika Gunasekara, Milan Rathnayake