The Top T20 Cricket Leagues in the World

An overview of the top 10 international T20 cricket leagues including the IPL, PSL, BBL, CPL and more. Prize money, team and format details.

Indian Premier League

The richest T20 league in the world is the prestigious Indian Premier League. The lucrative tournament commenced in 2008 and has completed fifteen successful seasons. The competition is open to up to 10 teams. The players receive substantial compensation for representing their respective franchises. The IPL awards winners with a hefty USD 2,696,258 in prize money.

The Big Bash League

The Big Bash League is a franchise cricket league by Cricket Australia (CA). In Australia’s premier T20 tournament, 8 teams have competed for the championship. The Big Bash League champion team receives the third highest prize money globally at USD 450,000.

T20 Blast

The world’s oldest and first professional T20 competition is called the T20 Blast, also known as the “Vitality Blast”. It is a professional Twenty20 cricket league for the top counties in England and Wales. It was launched in 2003 and had completed 20 seasons since. This league has as many as eighteen clubs participating. A prize of USD 236,127 is awarded to the league winner.

Pakistan Super League

After the IPL, the PSL is the most followed T20 league globally. Seven editions of Pakistan’s very own franchise cricket tournament have been completed. Since the 2016 PSL, up to six teams have competed in the competition. The Pakistan Super League winner gets USD 505,000 in prize money – the second highest globally.

Caribbean Premier League

By bringing in the Caribbean flavour, several West Indies cricketers have contributed to the excellent quality of T20 leagues globally. Playing across multiple T20 leagues worldwide, West Indian players are especially popular in T20 cricket. Launched in 2013, the CPL has six participating teams. The winner is awarded USD 429,799.

Bangladesh Premier League

In 2012, the Bangladesh Cricket Board launched the Bangladesh Premier League as its own franchise T20 competition. It has become one of the country’s most lucrative T20 leagues since. The Bangladesh Premier League is one of Bangladesh’s three professional cricket tournaments. With up to seven clubs competing, the league champion receives USD 236,099 in prize money.

Lanka Premier League

The Lanka Premier League is the brand-new T20 tournament created by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). It debuted in 2020. The league has up to six teams. The Premier League has commenced and successfully completed three editions so far. The Sri Lanka Premier League event winner receives a USD 100,000 prize.

Afghanistan Premier League

Like other countries, the Afghanistan Cricket Board established the Afghan Premier League – a franchise-based, Twenty20 league. Held in the United Arab Emirates, the competition has up to five participating teams. The prize money for the winner is $300,000 USD – more than the prize pools of the T20 Blast, LPL and BPL.

SA20 League

Cricket South Africa (CSA) launched the SA20 League – a franchise-based Twenty20 competition. Fans flocked in large numbers to watch the entertainment-filled Twenty20 tournament. Six franchises representing locations across the country are vying for the title. Sunrisers Eastern Cape were the victors in the SA20 League’s debut season.

UAE International League T20

It is not well known that the United Arab Emirates has its own franchise-based Twenty20 league – the International League T20 tournament. There are up to six competing teams. Each squad can have up to nine overseas players, with the remaining spots for UAE’s local talent. The Gulf Giants emerged triumphant in the 2023 inaugural event.