Clash of Titans: Kolkata Derby Headlines Opening Round of Kalinga Super Cup 2024

The anticipation is building as arch-rivals Mohun Bagan Super Giant and East Bengal FC gear up for the first Kolkata Derby of 2024 on January 19th at the Kalinga Stadium in the upcoming Kalinga Super Cup. The All India Football Federation (AIFF) unveiled the tournament fixtures on Wednesday, announcing a thrilling lineup for the much-awaited event set to take place in Odisha.

Commencing on January 09, the tournament kicks off with East Bengal facing fellow Indian Super League (ISL) contender Hyderabad FC. Simultaneously, Mohun Bagan Super Giant takes the field on the same day, locking horns with the champions of the I-League.

The Kalinga Super Cup, featuring 16 teams (12 from ISL and four from I-League), is divided into four groups of four teams each. The group stage draw, held on Monday, December 18, at the AIFF Football House in New Delhi, saw Kolkata giants East Bengal FC and Mohun Bagan Super Giant placed in Group A, setting the stage for an electrifying Kolkata Derby. Joining the arch-rivals in Group A are Hyderabad FC and an I-League 1 team.

Group B boasts Kerala Blasters FC, NorthEast United FC, and Jamshedpur FC, accompanied by an I-League 2 team. Group C includes powerhouses Mumbai City FC, Chennaiyin FC, Punjab FC, and an I-League 3 team. The final group, Group D, promises intense clashes with defending champions Odisha FC, former champions Bengaluru FC, FC Goa, and the winner of the qualifying play-off, i.e., I-League 4. The tournament is set to culminate in the final scheduled for January 28, promising football enthusiasts an action-packed start to the year.