Boxing Legends Enter Hall of Fame: Moorer, Hatton, Calderon, and Corrales Among 2024 Inductees

Michael Moorer, the pioneering left-hander who secured the heavyweight title, along with two-division champions Ricky Hatton and Ivan Calderon, have earned their places in the International Boxing Hall of Fame. This announcement came after the 13-member class was voted on by members of the Boxing Writers Association of America and a panel of international boxing historians.

Moorer’s journey to fame began in 1998 when he clinched the light heavyweight title in just his 12th fight. Notably, he transitioned to the heavyweight division three years later, making history as boxing’s first southpaw heavyweight champion in 1992. Despite a brief setback against George Foreman, Moorer reclaimed the heavyweight title in 1996, concluding his career with a commendable record of 52-4-1 and 40 knockouts.

Ricky Hatton, another stalwart in the 140-pound division, achieved a significant upset against Hall of Famer Kostya Tszyu in 2005. The British boxer later ventured into the welterweight category, adding another title to his name. Hatton’s legacy, marked by high-profile encounters with Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao, boasts a record of 45-3 with 32 KOs.

Ivan Calderon, a representative of Puerto Rico in the 2000 Olympics, showcased his prowess in the professional arena with titles at minimumweight and light flyweight. His record stands at 35-3-1, with 6 knockouts, making him a worthy addition to the Hall of Fame.

Diego Corrales, whose thrilling 2005 bout was voted “Fight of the Year,” is a poignant inclusion in the 2024 class. Corrales, with a career record of 40-5 and 33 KOs, is best remembered for his resilience in the face of adversity, notably in the 10th round against Jose Luis Castillo. Tragically, he succumbed to injuries from a motorcycle accident in 2007.

In addition to the illustrious male inductees, the women’s modern category sees British champion Jane Couch and Ana Maria Torres of Mexico joining the ranks. Luis Angel Firpo, in the old-timer category, and Theresa Kibby, in the women’s trailblazer category, round out the diverse class of 2024.

Completing the roster are trainer Kenny Adams, manager Jackie Kallen, and longtime publicist Fred Sternburg in recognition of their contributions. The Observer category pays tribute to journalist Wallace Matthews and broadcaster Nick Charles, posthumously.

The enshrinement ceremonies for this esteemed class are scheduled to take place from June 6-9, marking a celebration of the indelible impact these legends have left on the sport of boxing.